top of page

About Ayurvedic Life

"Health is not a mere absence of disease.

It is a dynamic expression of Life." 

-Gurudev Sri Sri Ravishankar

Principles Of Ayurveda 

Ayurveda is a time tested natural system of medicine that originated in India more than 3000 years back and complements very well with its sister science ‘yoga’. The term Ayurveda is derived from the Sanskrit words Ayu (life) and Veda (science or knowledge). Thus, Ayurveda translates to knowledge of life. 


It is based on the idea that a disease is due to an imbalance or stress in a person's consciousness. Ayurveda encourages certain lifestyle interventions and natural therapies to regain a balance between the body, mind, spirit, and the environment. 


Five Elements - Going back to Basics


Our physical body, as well as everything around us is made from five elements (earth, water, fire, wind and space). There is a connection between the effect of the elements surrounding us, and those within us. It's like a dance between the two. 


The elements can be in harmony or disharmony. Due to lifestyle changes and stresses in our system there could be disharmony in the body-mind complex and that could lead to physical ailments and diseases in the body. Ayurveda is not only a cure but a preventive medicine that helps identify these discords in the elements early on before they could manifest into a disease. It works at the deepest level by attacking the root cause of the disease and not just the symptoms.


Elements and Doshas


These five elements combine and permutate to create three principle constitutions that govern the functioning and interplay of a person’s body, mind, and consciousness. These energies (dosha in Sanskrit) are:


1.Vata Dosha — composed of Space and Air elements, Vata governs movement, creativity and connection
2.Pitta Dosha — composed of Fire and Water Elements, Pitta governs the digestion and the metabolic system
3.Kapha Dosha — composed of Earth and Water, Kapha governs structure, lubrication, grounding and stability


Though everyone has the qualities of all three constitutions to some degree, each person generally has a primary, most prominent dosha, a secondary dosha, and a third and least prominent dosha. 

Image by Katherine Hanlon
shiksha uplift pics.jpg
The Healthy Living Workshop - Dinacharya

In Ayurveda, Dinacharya has been given utmost importance. Dinacharya simply means a Healthy Daily Routine (Dina means Day & Charya means Wellness Regime). Adapting a daily routine which is time tested is one of the most nurturing and grounding things one should do for good health. It can dramatically improve ones life. Many lifestyle disorders can be avoided by just practicing Dinacharya.

To learn more about this workshop please contact us.

bottom of page